Service Area

Chastain & Associates, a Gilmer County Georgia surveyor offers a wide service area in North Atlanta, North Georgia, Southeast Tennessee, the southwest region of North Carolina, South Carolina, and Alabama. This was not easy in years past. However, technology has made a wider area much more efficiently served. Previously someone had to go to the courthouse each time a survey was conducted, review the property assessors maps, and go to the Clerk's Office to copy deeds and plats as necessary to properly conduct the survey. Today much, if not all, of this information is available online. This allows us to research a property 50 miles away as efficiently as one right up the street from our office. It also allows us to research properties after hours and on weekends. Many transactions require that the survey be reviewed by many parties before closing. This often results in minor changes being requested, ranging from the way names are stated on the plat to how division lines are described on the plat. Until a few years ago this required sending out many overnight packages at least twice during the course of a survey. Today, PDF files can be created and emailed almost instantly to as many recipients as necessary anywhere on the globe. We also have the ability to incorporate various information and images into detailed maps and renderings.

Gilmer County, Georgia
Gilmer County is Georgia's Apple Capital, home to many commercial apple houses and the annual Georgia Apple Festival. Cities and towns in Gilmer County include Ellijay, East Ellijay, and Cherry Log.
Pickens County, Georgia
Pickens County is the Marble Capital of Georgia. Much of the material used on government buildings in Atlanta and Washington, D.C. came from Pickens County. Cities and towns in Pickens County include Jasper, Talking Rock, Marble Hill, Tate, and Nelson.
Fannin County, Georgia
Fannin County is Georgia's Trout Fishing capital and is well known for second homes and cabin rentals. Fannin County borders both Tennessee and North Carolina. Cities and towns include Blue Ridge, McCaysville, and Morganton.
Murray County, Georgia
Murray County is home to many aspects of Georgia's early history, including the Historic Vann House along the Old Federal Road and Fort Mountain State Park. Cities and towns include Chatsworth and Eton.
Dawson County, Georgia
Dawson County is home to Amicalola Falls State Park, a portion of Lake Lanier, Premium North Georgia Outlet Mall, and the annual Moonshine Festival. The only incorporated town in Dawson County is Dawsonville.
Union County, Georgia
Union County is home to Brasstown Bald, the hightest mountain peak in Georgia and Nottley Lake and Dam. Blairsville is the county seat and only incorporated town in Union County, but Suches in southern Gilmer County is a remarkable community with a store, post office, and Woody Gap School.
Polk County, Tennessee
Polk County is divided into two distinct regions, the Copper Basin area and the Benton area. These regions are separated by the Ocoee Gorge which was home of the 1996 Olympics Whitewater events. Copperhill, Ducktown, and Turtletown are in the Copper Basin region, while Benton (county seat), Reliance, Ocoee, and Delano are situated in the Benton region.
Lumpkin County, Georgia
Famous for the first gold rush in America, Lumpkin County is a very scenic mountain county situated at the north end of the Highway 400 corridor. Dahlonega is the county seat and only incorporated town. Camp Frank Merrill, located north of Dahlonega, is the U.S. Army Rangers mountain warfare training headquarters.
Cherokee County, North Carolina
The westernmost county in North Carolina, Cherokee County borders both Tennessee and Georgia. Almost a third of the county's 468 square miles are in the Nantahala National Forest. Known for beautiful mountains and rivers, Cherokee County is also known for the Fields of The Woods park. Cities and communities include Murphy, Andrews, Culberson, Marble, Ranger, Peachtree, and Hiwassee Dam.
Gordon County, Georgia
Gordon County is recognized as lying about half way between the Chattanooga and Atlanta metropolitan areas on Interstate I-75. Cities and towns include Calhoun, Fairmount, Ranger, Resaca, and Plainville.
Whitfield County, Georgia
Whitfield County is known as America's Carpet Capital, being home to many carpet mills and distribution facilities. Cities and towns include Dalton, Cohutta, Tunnel Hill, and Varnell.
Cherokee County, Georgia
Cherokee County is the remainder of what was the largest county in Georgia's history in connection with the former Cherokee Indian Nation in 1830. In the heart of the Interstate 575 corridor, Cherokee County is home to much of Lake Allatoona and many historical cites. Canton is the county seat, other cities include Ball Ground, Holly Springs, Waleska, and Woodstock.
Hall County, Georgia
Gainesville, Georgia is northeast Georgia's metropolitan center. Home of the Georgia Mountains Center, Northeast Georgia Medical Center, Brenau University, Gainesville State College, and abundant shopping venues, Gainesville has it all. Hall County also sports many miles of shoreline of Lake Sidney Lanier, the Atlanta Falcons training center, and Lanier Raceway. Other cities in Hall County include Clermont, Flowery Branch, Gillsville, Oakwood, and Lula.
Forsyth County, Georgia
Forsyth County is home to Buford Dam and much of Lake Sidney Lanier. Located north of Fulton County on the Highway 400 corridor, Forsyth County has experienced phenomenal growth over the last 2 decades. Cumming is the county seat and only incorporated town. Other communities include Midway, Silver City, Heardsville, and Matt.
Bradley County, Tennessee
Situated north of the Georgia state line and east of Chattanooga, Bradley County is home to industry along the Interstate 75 corridor. Bradley County is home to Lee University and Cleveland State Community College, as well as two major hospitals. Cleveland, Tennessee is the county seat. The other city, Charleston, Tennessee is located along the Hiawassee River.
Towns County, Georgia
Home of Young Harris College, Towns County is situated south of the North Carolina line and at the end of the Highway 515 corridor. Hiawassee is the county seat and is situated near the head of Lake Chatuge. The college is located in the city of Young Harris.
Clay County, North Carolina
Hayesville is the only chartered town in Clay County. Clay County is home to much of the Nantahala National Forest, Nantahala River, and a good portion of Lake Chatuge. Other communities in Clay County include Brasstown, Shooting Creek, and Tusquittee.
Floyd County, Georgia
Floyd County is home to Berry College, Shorter College, and Georgia Highlands College, as well as 3 major hospitals. Rome, Georgia is the county seat, and Cave Spring lies in the western portion of the county near Alabama.
Bartow County, Georgia
Bartow County is home to Allatoona Lake, Etowah Indian Mounds, Red Top Mountain State Park, and Barnsley Gardens. Cities and towns include Cartersville, Adairsville, Emerson, Euharlee, Kingston, and White.
Catoosa County, Georgia
A suburb of Chattanooga, Catoosa County is well known for the historic civic war Chickamauga Battlefield and the Georgia Winery. Ringold is the county seat, and the battlefield is in Fort Oglethorpe.
Walker County, Georgia
Situated just south of Chattanooga, Walker County is home to the nationally famous Rock City attraction in Lookout Mountain and portions of the Chickamauga-Chattanooga Battlefield National Park. Other cities include LaFayette, Chickamauga, and Rossville.
White County, Georgia
White County is home to Yonah Mountain and is recognized as being on the headwaters of the Chattahoochee River. It was here that creator Xavior Roberts created the Cabbage Patch Kids line of dolls, which are still made and available at Babyland General in downtown Cleveland. Besides Cleveland, quaint Helen is also located in White County.